PLANET FITNESS - HEAD OFFICE Complaints

South Africa - 21 North Road, Illovo, 2193, Johannesburg
+27 86 149 6463

File a complaint


Consumer Complaints ( 14 )

SENDER
Belinda Marina Human
My husband, myself and my daugter signed up with Planet Fitness when the Brakpan branch opened. All 3 of us signed up for the 12month contracts. After a few months, due to personal reasons, we tried to cancel the contracts. We were informed that the contracts can only be cancelled upon paying a cancellation fee, which equals the exact amount we would have paid until the 12 month period expired. We opted to let the contract run until such time that the required period expired, which is August 2019, and I forwarded cancellations again. My contract and my daughter's contract was cancelled, but not my husband's contract. I also did not receive any feedback from Planet Fitness and therefore submitted another request for the contract to be cancelled. Only in December we got a response to say that we have to pay cancellation fees before the contract can be cancelled, but with no explanation as to why we should pay the cancellation fees. The next moment we get an email to say that we have been handed over for debt collection, we are liable for cancellation fees as well as legal fees. When I did an enquiry I was told that my husband's contract was a 24month contract and not 12month as we signed up for, hence we are still liable to pay all fees until the contract expires. I checked the contract (did not on the day that we signed up as all 3 was supposed to be 12 months)and it was indeed an error on the salesman's side - 24 months!! This is not due to a fault of ours, but rather an incompetent, over excited salesman and now we have to pay the price. We are still battling to get the contract cancelled. Is there anyone at Planet Fitness who can provide proficient service and assist with the cancellation with immediate effect? And keeping us liable for cancellation AND legal fees is totally absurd
Comment
COMPLAINT #6635 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Reagan Edwards
In 2014 I cancelled my contract within 5 days(Due to relocated to another province). The contract were supposed to be cancelled as per your terms and conditions at Planet fitness Lynnwood.I joined planet fitness again on 31/08/2020.I paid my registration fee,tag and I gym for 3 weeks. However Planet fitness Lynnwood embarrassed me infront of all the members that was gymming at the time.I was embarrassed,humiliated and degraded.The supervisor chased me out of his office like dog. When i told him im South African citizen and I have rights he accused me of Xenophobia.He embarrassed me infront of all the members and said I can't get access and I won't access planet fitness Lynnwood ever again.The fact that there is still 1st contract that shows that there is an amount outstanding -Its not my fault.I cancelled the 1st contract within 5 days I called Lynnwood planet fitness and I physically went there and cancelled - Planet fitness Lynnwood were supposed to cancelled contract on the 4th day when I called them and on 5th day when I was there at Planet fitness Lynnwood. Suddenly they are know able to cancel my 2nd(August 2020) contract after 3 weeks of gymming - I do not want to cancel my 31 August 2020 contract -i want to gym. You are not customer friendly.You do not want new business. You chase customers away. This is very bad for business.
Planet fitness Lynnwood is also very racist they have a underline of racism and racial profiling.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6389 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
hyson pillay
Good day Planet Fitness

I am currently a Virgin Active member but have had the pleasure of enjoying your facilities at the Westville Megaclub branch (Westwood Mall) through my cousin who has a blacktag membership. He has been trying to recruit myself and my wife to transfer from Virgin Active to Planet Fitness. I have copied a post of my review on this gym just two weeks ago, but now have concerns and a change of heart following my experience yesterday (14 September 2020).

Yesterday afternoon at 4:10pm upon entry, I walked onto the gym floor and I took a seat at the vacant calf machine. As I began to start my workout, an unknown member stared at me intimidatingly and said 'are you snaying me' as he continued to walk a few meters away, He repeated the question in a more aggressive tone. He then walked right up to me as I continued to exercise and began to shout and use vulgar and offensive language at me in the presence of the entire gym patrons and staff. I was unaware of what was going on and was taken aback as this member continually told me to come outside to fight.
At the time there was Planet Fitness staff member, Preshen(GM) on the floor who was watching this transpire. I kept telling the member please leave me alone and walk away as I do not know you. There after other member training at the time went to Inform the Planet Fitness staff of the altercation occurring. As the aggressive member continued to threaten me, I then approached another Planet Fitness staff member (Shane) to report the incident of abuse and intimidation by this member, at that time he wasn't surprised and said that very same guy moments ago had an altercation with a fellow elderly staff member, swearing and using vulgar language at him in the presence of the entire gym, at the time Preshen(GM) was on the floor so I told shane that the manager can witness what has occurred.
To my disbelief the aggressive member had approached me again whilst I explained the incident to Preshen and Shane (Planet Fitness Staff) and continued to harass me, right in front of staff. This member continued to use fowl and derogatory words and insisted that I left the gym to fight with him. What surprised me the most was when he made a comment to Preshen(GM) 'I bet you R100 000 that I will knock you out) there after tapping Preshen(GM) on his stomach as if this was a joke. I was belittled as this guy continued to shout and swear in front of other members and staff.
My cousin (Rivash) who is the member told the guy that we have no issue so why are you troubling us, he then threatened him as well saying that he must also come outside because he will fight him next.
I later found out from staff that this member apparently does mixed martial arts, so he is an MMA Fighter and clearly feels that he can do as he pleases at your establishment. It is disgusting that this was just allowed even after Gavin (staff) spoke to him, asking him to stop. The guy just shouted 'OK Gavin OK Gavin' in a sarcastic manner and thereafter showed rude signs (middle fingers) from behind the staff. He continued to walk by and harass me such that staff members could not hear. Why wasn't this member stopped immediately, why was I continuously allowed to be harassed, threatened and victimized by a bully at your establishment. Multiple unknown members who witnessed the incident mentioned to me he's always loud and extremely aggressive because no one can stop him there. Please utilize your cctv footage to see clearly I am only stating facts of what has transpired, this was such a horrible and embarrassing experience, I don't wish a single other member to has to endure.

Under your rules it clearly states the following:
10) Behaviour in our Clubs:

You may not use foul, loud, or abusive
language.
• You may not physically/sexually/verbally
abuse or harass other members, guests,
visitors, tenants or members of staff.
• You may not commit any acts which may
cause distaste, revulsion or hostility to
other members, guests, visitors, tenants or
members of staff.

This member went against all the behavior rules and acts without any consequence. He was left to do and say what he wanted in front of your staff including your club GM (Preshen) , Sales consultant (Shane) and all the other club members.
Is this behavior and the caliber of members that Planet Fitness allows to patronise the club?
Enlight of the above we had to wait for that member to leave the gym before we could exit as he continuously threatened 'come outside to fight'
Furthermore planet fitness will be held accountable if this member continues to harass me or my cousin (Rivash) or if this matter escalates and becomes violent and any harm is caused. We will have no choice but to seek legal counsel.
I trust the above is in order and await a favorable response.

Mr Hyson Pillay
071 082 8123
Show quoted text

Show quoted text

Comment
COMPLAINT #6351 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Tamara Michel
My partner and I were misinformed by the sales person from the first day of signing our first contract with planet fitness earlier this year. This continued for a few weeks until we realised he was just chasing sales numbers and not selling us the products correct or with us in mind. After signing numerous contracts, we paid a R600 joining fee, only to find out this was not applicable to us. Thereafter our first debit order went off, double the amount we signed for. After discussions with the manager, it was decided that the sign-up fee would be used as an advancement of the monthly fees, which we were happy with. After countless calls and e-mails, my partners account seems to be up-to-date, yet mine is still incorrect. I have had numerous calls with the call centre and trying to speak to the manager at the gym, never getting this resolved. With lockdown I forgot that I had issues with Planet Fitness, but yesterday I received a message that my account was in arrears since March. Obviously, my issue has not been resolved in 5 months. At this current moment I believe I have not dealt with a more incompetent company than Planet Fitness.
If this cannot be solved soon, I hope Planet Fitness will cancel my contract immediately.


Comment
COMPLAINT #5802 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Revash Singh
Hi

How can you charge me 50% of my gym membership fees if i freeze my membership due to the covid pandemic.i am not enetering or using your facilities. On the website prior to the opening of gyms you do not stipulate this. Utter robbery. I have phoned in to your call centers and am looking at all avenues to report this behavior to the ombudsman
Comment
COMPLAINT #5705 - Billing or Collection Issues
SENDER
shawn cash
I went to 2 different planet fitness centres to possibly change my membership from virgin active. When i got to Olympus on Saturday 22 August (the second one a visited) my mind was changed very quickly.

The biggest complaint is that the regulations you guys have set out in regards to the covid pandemic. I was there for an hour and a half and every single weight that was placed in the demarcated area (to be cleaned) was simply picked up by the staff members and reracked immediately. Secondly the wearing of mask was not enforced and quite a number of people were walking around with either no mask or their mask hanging on their one ear.
Comment
COMPLAINT #5642 - Service Issues
SENDER
EPHRAIM
My gym membership was due to expire in may 2020 however due to lockdown i wasnt able to. today 20-08-2020 i visited the gym to try and cancel and to my horor i was told that my gym membership has been extended by another 5 months due to the lockdown period staring from April to August 2020. i'm very disgusted to say the least.
Comment
COMPLAINT #5583 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Morne
Hi.

The number provided for customer care has a automatic voice system stating no calls can be taken due to COVID 19 and that the web site should be visited for further information. The website clearly stipulate open for business and no other information is displayed. Obviously the gym is closed... Where should accurate information be obtained?? at this stage the one refers to the other but no clarity, like the blind leading the blind and causing confusion. Please stay professional, having another organization going down the drain due to unprofessionalism is definitely not what we need right now...
Comment
COMPLAINT #5489 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Marisa Cook
I have tried to contact you online, call, facebook etc.
just getting no feedback whatsoever.
I need to cancel my mom and dad's contracts, my dad passed away in May already.
Please contact me urgently so i can cancel both contracts i am paying for.
Comment
COMPLAINT #4516 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Angelique Du Plessis
Good Day

I would like to know how a gym contract was opened/sold to my 18 year old son, who is unemployed? His Id No: 0010265112085, the person who signed him up never even requested a surety and never requested proof of income. I'm his mother who is currently not earning an income and even if I wanted to I would not be able to pay this contract on his behalf. My son as only just completed school, as is training as a real estate intern, so I really do not understand how this contract was approved and request that this contract be cancelled with immediate effect. In terms of the NCA this is unlawful and completely unprofessional.

Kindly confirm what can be done about the cancellation of this contract, as neither my son nor myself are currently earning a salary.
Comment
COMPLAINT #3149 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Boitumelo
I’m disgusted with the service can’t even call the head office this is so unprofessional and unacceptable service I’ve ever received.


I want to cancel my contract
Comment
COMPLAINT #3040 - Contract Issues
SENDER
Vuyiswa Thelma Mabena
I canceled my account and o paid the penalty fee. But I still get charged every month. I asked that my contract should be tenminated
Contract Issues Photo

Comment
COMPLAINT #2839 - Contract Issues
SENDER
shane
Good Day..
On the 9 March ,my wife and I went to the Midlands Branch Liberty mall, upon entering i tried to tag into the gym but did not beep as it usually does.. we noted that the disable glass access door was opened and proceeded to enter through it when a white gentleman rudely and loudly shouted,at us to tag..
I explained that i tried and it did not beep, but also trying again whilst replying to him.
Firstly he did NOT show any courtesy or "customer care" or portray ANY of the customer care values Planet Fitness avertises or claim to have.
the gentleman maintained his loud condersending tone and repeated to ask me to tag..as he approached me,still not giving me a chance to explain my business/ reason for my visit.. it was only then that i saw his name badge; JACO.
addressing him by name.. I explained to him:
1: A simple Hi,Good Day.. Sorry sir.. would be more appropriate.
2: even though i possess a tag.. i am not here to gym.. I am part of the Emergency Medical Team that was called to the gym.. even though I am dressed in casual attire.

i am not sure how or what training Jaco has on customer care/ courtesy, if any.. should be retrained in the latest concepts of customer satifaction or Batho Pele principles.
In the industry i belong.. such acts would warrant FINAL warnings or IMMEDIATE dismissal for bring the company into Disrepute.
I am hoping my complaint would be viewed in as Serious light and relevant measures followed to action your staff.
Comment
COMPLAINT #2717 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Xander Engelbrecht
Sales consultant changed our contracts without our knowledge. We pay more as what we have signed for and after they told me it was corrected the same thing happened again. I am fed up with Planett Fitness because no one can help me or get back to me.
Reply by pooja singh on 16 September, 2020
My experience was so bad i told them last year please cancel my membership they said ok we will in process but still they were detecting. since 2019 i am not going gym and i believed on them they will cancel but they did'n today i noticed they are still detecting. i am really struggling for cancellation
Reply by pooja singh on 22 September, 2020
Really my experience was very bad with pleasantness
i am really trying to cancel my membership no body help me only detecting money from my account and they are not giving me a right number who can help me and cancel my membership.
Comment
COMPLAINT #1780 - Contract Issues