PEP STORES Complaints

South Africa - BRAD ST, 4170, Umkomaas
0860 737 000 , 0860 777 765

File a complaint


Consumer Complaints ( 314 )

SENDER
Lungelo Ian Sitole
Good morning my name is Ian Sitole. On the 01 January 2020 I purchased a handset from Pep Store in Brentwood Park Benoni and it had an offer with it that you will receive 600mb for 7 days every month. I thought that upon me loading airtime I would receive this offer but 2 weeks later I have not received any data. Who do I deal with on this issue?

Lungelo Ian Sitole
0760785944
Comment
COMPLAINT #10964 - Advertising Issues
SENDER
ESME CASLING
I BOUGHT AN OPENVIEW DISH AT PEP STORES 14/10/2020
I LOST THE SLIP AS I PAID CASH FOR IT. THE DISH IS FAULTY NOW AND I NEED IT TO BE EXCHANGE.
THE INSTALLLERS OF OPENVIEW WAS AT MY HOUSE AND THE FAULT IS WITH THE DISH. DONT HAVE MONEY TO BUY A NEW ONE AS I HAD TO PAY OUT AN AMOUNT OF R530 FOR THEM TO COME AND HAVE A LOOK AT THE DISH
MEANWHILE THE FAULT IS NOT WITH THE ALIGNMENT I AM A LOYAL CUSTOMER OF PEP STORES SO FOR THIS TO HAPPEN AND PAYOUT SO A LOT IS NOT FAIR


Comment
COMPLAINT #10946 - Product Issues
SENDER
Mango
I bought a cellphone on the 13th of January 2021 and I.wanted an exchange on the 14th of january 2021. Because the phones camera is not working properly. They told me they can only exchange technical errors wbut the policy on the slip does not say only techinical erros I was asked to call the customer Service center which I did and I was told to speak to the manager apperently the manager is not in the store I had to call again. They said the manager will call back I need an exchange or I.should get my refund I haven't used the phone I just checked the camera and the pictures are blurry I dont want it
Comment
COMPLAINT #10937 - Repair Issues
SENDER
Jocelyn Marimuthoo
To the management
I had been to the Pep store in Arbor crossing Durban on 21/12/2020 between 16.30 and 17.00pm to purchase a flash voucher to the value of R1000. I have somehow lost the slip and need a reprint but the store is unable to assist. Please can you look into this, I did use my pep card, number 6363700095818939.

Thank you and regards
Jocelyn - Cell 0784002770
Comment
COMPLAINT #10910 - Other Issues
SENDER
Ntombi Ntshoko
Rude lady who was helping my mother at PEP Alice, Kwantu Mall, EC 5700.
On 09-01-2021 between 12:00 - 13-00.
While my mom was trying to send a parcel. The lady rudely asked for a store code which did not know. But had the address.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10846 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Yvonne May
Good Day,
I bought a phone Samsung Galaxy A2 from a pep cell store in randburg mall on the 21st of August 2020 and I have returned the phone 4 times as it was giving issues days after the purchase. They at least take 4 weeks before return and once I get the phone and get home hours after it stops working totally and I have to take it back and I have done this 4times. I have asked for a refund on the last return and I have been refused. I will like this to be attended to as I will not take this at all. I was told they don't know when the manager of the store will be back to work as she has personal issues and I have been told this twice now. please kindly attend to this issue.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10821 - Refund / Exchange Issues
SENDER
Molebogeng Mannya
As I'm writing these complain I'm sitting outside pep mall@lebo in Lebowakgomo. According to their guide it says their operating hours on saterday are from 8.00 to 17.00 to the minutes they are not opened and none of their staff members is showing to be coming to work. Please file these complaints as a matter of urgency because we have other plans other than sitting here and waiting for them to come on their own time. I'm really not happy with these life does not have to be revolved around them. These is out of control really
Comment
COMPLAINT #10791 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Mongezi James Genu
I, Mongezi Genu will like to complain about my Phone repair ID: 01561110538EF0 which I brought on the 18 November 2020 at PEP Branch no.5611, Key West Shopping Centre.

My mobile phone details is as follows:
IMEI: 867173040507490
Brand: Hisense
Model: U40

I'll appreciate if I may be notified when I should expect my phone cause it was not a repair that can take more than 2 hours nor a month to repair. Please inform me when I will get my phone.

Regards

Mongezi Genu
Cell: 081 402 7765
Alternative: 072 199 9985
Email: gjmo***@gmail.com
Comment
COMPLAINT #10785 - Repair Issues
SENDER
Charmaine Pretorius
Hi there, I tried to send a paxi parcel from the Hartbeesfontein store. I stood waiting for a long while because the computer system was very slow. Nonproblem. Understandable. However, the transaction did not register. Another lady, I assume the manager came to assist me. She tried for another 10 minutes...then she left. Then they phoned the receiver of the package to find out the store number. I did not give them permission to do this. In any case, he tried, but there was no answer.
I left the store and will now drive to Klerksdorp to use Courier Guy. R20 more expensive, but much less trouble and door to door.
I have used paxi before and had no trouble.
My question is this?

How is it possible that stores do not have access to the numbers of other stores?

Is it the customer's responsibility to phone receiving stores to get store numbers?

Is there an online list for your staff to use?

Also, I have already bought the paxi bag and it was opened. I would like to return it as I have no use for it anymore.

I often go to this Pep stores and the service is always impeccable. I do believe if the staff had access to the store codes things would have been more efficient.

Regards
Charmaine Pretorius
0761938492
Comment
COMPLAINT #10684 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Lethabo
I bought school uniform for my child at pep store. Now I need to exchange the tshirts because he is changing the school. So I went to pep at mega mart to do exchange..I explained to the manager that I lost the receipt..I looked everywhere but I can't find it..she told me that she won't assist me because I don't have the receipt..I don't have money to buy another school uniform.i even call the customer care but I didn't get help.
Please help me..what should i do
Reply by Angel masuku on 7 January, 2021
I want to exchange a track pants as well at pep ilanga mall they couldn't assist me and the customer care office wasn't that helpful the lady Was so mean
Comment
COMPLAINT #10639 - Refund / Exchange Issues
SENDER
vivienne Williams
Went to Somerset West branch looking for peel and stick tiles...unfortunately they didn't have...but Valerie was kind enough to phone branches and Somerset Mall had....drove there waiting for 10 minutes and they never took the 2 as requested from the shelves..I'm beyond angry...wasted petrol and my time and no one is claiming responsibility....I left my cell phone number to have the Mall sort out the mess up.....Angry like HELL
Comment
COMPLAINT #10487 - Service Issues
SENDER
Dinesh peritam
Gooday Sir/Madam
My name is Dinesh and my details are above

I have complaint bout branch in lakeside mall benoni i am frequent customer of but now i will no longer shop there due to male manager n two other male employees who asaulted my brother tho he was wrong they had nor do they have any right to lay hands on him and im so sure its also due to him been indian n to me its seems be racial issue ..... I gotten call from my brother on 29 december around 15:30 sayingnto come to pep stores as i sent him to buy me secret socks ..... Gettingbthere trying speak to manager who completely shown me his rude ways and said cops on way but in interum i was told that they been watching my brother for incident happened last week which he was taken to jail n court for well the story for 29 december my brother entered had secret socks and items i had given him money to purchase for me and coz of staff reconizing him but none them know he payed his dues as appeared for the case already before he could get to counter to pay the store manager male and two other male coleagues grabbed him forced him to back of shop before he could get explain he was kicked to ground whilst on ground they kept kicking him in ribs face and back when i got there they wouldnt talk to me nor let me see him coz im sure of briuses but when we asked them did he steal it show us the camera they refused for what i know if customet walk out the doora before paying thats knowm as stealing why couldnt they proove he done so coz its all a freaken lie and want cover up they tracks of the asault he must appear in court today but i want state we and mean we all in our indian community shall get to see what happens when we take this to various media and sure we indians will see if we should support pep stores ever again coz im sure no1 will contact us nothing will be done by pep stores as they surely do condone ways indians should be treated and why lakeside mall pep stores manager will be supported by all in head office but lets see howindinas around south africa reacts to one of our own treated like animal

Thank you dinesh peritam
Comment
COMPLAINT #10469 - Other Issues
SENDER
Lindokuhle
Yesterday 28th of December I went to PEP Store at Galleria Mall. So I went to pep were they sell clothes they was a long Que than since I was on tea break I than decided to go to pep home when I went there they told me the scanner is not working as I was applying for Capfin loan. Then I dicided to go to pep cell so I went there cashier named senamile told me the lady that can scan for me is busy on the phone I ask her to call her since she can't scan for me she came back and said she can't come I must go to other pep I told her I can't ive been there and I am on my lunch break. She just say they is nothing she can do. So my question is that acceptable 1 cashier working and they are things she can't do and the other person is busy with a phone call cannot attend to customers really u could have seen the que I really find it unacceptable u really need to teach your sfaff about customer service.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10463 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Sizakele
Yesterday I bought a cellphone @ Pepcell in Tsakane Mall and asked the assistant there to just Rica my sim card as I will want to use it to port my current number to the new sim. Later in the day I tried porting my number and the sim was not registered when I called cell cand they advised me to buy a new sim register it. I today went to PepHome bought a new sim again sim was not Registered. Now I have to go back and register again. Totally disappointed with service from Pep
Comment
COMPLAINT #10461 - Service Issues
SENDER
Samuel
I bought a cellphone at pep in joburg, when I got home the phone screen has a grey line when I go back they said they can't help me with anything they said m the 1 who damaged the phone so what must I do can I open the case for them, or go to the media coz I can't lose my money just like that
Reply by Bernard Phasha on 1 January, 2021
I booked my cell phone for repair at pep store because it was not charging.they said that i must pay R3500 before can fix my phone.i asked for my phone back and they said i have to wait because it still in repair.i waited for 3 weeks.i went there and they gave me my phone but it was damaged inside.the screen was damaged inside.my phone is was fine but it was not charging.now i stuck with my phone because of pep store repair.
Reply by Bernard Phasha on 1 January, 2021
I booked my cell phone for repair at pep store because it was not charging.they said that i must pay R3500 before can fix my phone.i asked for my phone back and they said i have to wait because it still in repair.i waited for 3 weeks.i went there and they gave me my phone but it was damaged inside.the screen was damaged inside.my phone is was fine but it was not charging.now i stuck with my phone because of pep store repair.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10455 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Sipho
I was at pep store in protea Glen mall Soweto the manager of the store does not know how to speak with the customers and its the second time now the area manager of the area knows about this thing I am not happy at all and she was rude and disrespectful to me and in front of the other customers and the cashier tried to talk with her plz talk with her.the branch code of the store is 5557
Comment
COMPLAINT #10441 - Other Issues
SENDER
Leon
Have baugh 2 phones here 2 days ago when I bring it back to them for exchange all of them first walk pass me and help other people after I complain about it the lady at the phone department thinks I'm stupid I have more brain then she think rather stay without something before I come here ever again
Comment
COMPLAINT #10402 - Sales Issues
SENDER
Lerato Kgosane
I just exited Pep store in President hyper where a female worker there blatantly refused to assist me and my partner. I greeted her 3 times and even waved at her to gesture my greeting before asking for her assistance as she was in the aisle that I was looking for help in. The manager was just as nonchalant about my complaint as her subordinate! I walked out without purchasing anything there because of the cold and rude customer service. PEP CO, PLEASE train your stuff.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10384 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Ntombizodwa
I had a very bad customer service, at Pep store in Sam Ntuli mall.A lady named NTHABISENG gave me the worst customers service. I was in the store and asked for assisted, and she said customers are a problem, if i don't know something how is she suppose to know, she works in store, she's suppose to help me for heaven sake.She said she won't be able to help me, I had to look for old receipts in order for her to help me since i needed to pay funeral cover,She said it is now done online,and further said "She thought them introducing online payments would make things easier for everyone, clearly not" She gave me the worst service, I even regretted coming to that store because before I reached that Pep store i pass 2 pep stores on my way there, I'm very unhappy. She was rude and ruined my day.
Comment
COMPLAINT #10368 - Service Issues
SENDER
Mpatane Mondekazi
I bought a Phone Hisense on the 19th of December 2020, it's a dual SIM, they didn't tell me that SIM one is locked to be MTN only, also they didn't tell me that even if I put another network it won't work on data, so I took it back and they told me that there's nothing they can do about it, another thing they opened my phone in the store room and gave it to me ready with settings and everything. When I ask them about that they said "sorry" now my phone keeps having different strange accounts of people i've never seen. I don't know what to do with this phone really cause I am a Vodacom user not MTN, had they told me what was the case I would've took Vodacom or added money and bought another one. I am scared of my privacy cause somehow this phone feels and seems hacked.

I would really appreciate your help in this.

I bought the phone at pepcell in Libode.
Phone number is 0607692440, email is mpatane***@gmail.com
Comment
COMPLAINT #10348 - Customer Service Issues