PEP STORES Complaints

South Africa - BRAD ST, 4170, Umkomaas
0860 737 000 , 0860 777 765

File a complaint


Consumer Complaints ( 158 )

SENDER
Simone Upton
Good day, I am complaining with regards to a phone that was sent in on the 10th of July 2020 for repairs, please note the phone was 8 days old. The staff at Toti Mall has been very friendly and I believe just as frustrated as I am, as they were told a month ago that the phone could not be repaired and a new phone would be sent. When one buys a phone it is because you need a phone, not to sit without a phone for over 2 months.
I would appreciate feedback ASAP! the complaint was also lodged with the regional Rep for Pep stores a couple of weeks ago. Please this is getting ridiculous. - Amanzimtoti
Comment
COMPLAINT #6439 - Guarantee Or Warranty Issues
SENDER
Charlotte Dickson
Good day, I just want to understand what is the difference between a proof of address from the municipality and from the accounts/billing address? I went to Barkly West Pep stores to purchase an LTE TELKOM simcard but they refused to help with the proof of address from my clothing account. They said they can only help me with the proof of address from the municipality. That's why I want to know the difference between the two. Whereas my sister who resides in Jhb went to festival mall pepcell in kempton Park with her clothing account as proof of address and was able to purchase the simcard. Please let me know why am I not receiving the same service at the smallest town in SA? Where pep store is the only shop that sells simcards?
Comment
COMPLAINT #6416 - Service Issues
SENDER
Thandi Sani Mahlangu
Dear Pep stores I am very disappointed at your services. I sent my elderly money via pep store money transfer at crossing mall at soshanguve, when she tries to withdraw the money at ABSA ATM it says "Transaction not allowed".
I went to the shop and ask them to help me they said I must call pep customer service when I call it rings play music no one to answer please intervene before I take further actions against you.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6415 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Makhotso Njokwe
I purchased a Samsung A2 in November 2019, in June 2020 it started giving me problems it would say phone is overheating and I should switch off some apps then it turns off the problem persisted I then decided to take phone bad to the store I purchased to be sent for repairs under warranty on 30 Aug 2020. On 17Sep I got a call from Margo saying the assessment was done an they found liquid damage and I will have to pay R2600 for repairs I said I dispute liquid damage and that they must bring back phone. I asked also for proof of physical damage which they refuse to send and they say I must pay for assessment R171 which I was not made aware that I will pay for assessment. Please how can they charge me and refuse to send mr proof. Please assist me to get my phone back as it was as they refusing to bring back my phone.
Guarantee Or Warranty Issues Photo

Comment
COMPLAINT #6414 - Guarantee Or Warranty Issues
SENDER
Tshenolo Makoloi
On the 14th of this month i bought a zte wife router at pep cell. The only thing i liked about the router is deal that i will got which is 13gb once off and 1g data every month for 12 months. Nou the is no data at all i only have the router with no deals. Pls whats going on bevause im planning to return the router Tomorrow and get my refund.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6405 - Advertising Issues
SENDER
Mbali K
I have received a poor service from the guy called Peter in Theku Plaza Mall in Newcastle after queuing for an hour on the door but he allows certain people to come in when i enter he said I must learn to be patient worse they were not on the que I mustn't compare myself qith others. What is that really
Comment
COMPLAINT #6383 - Service Issues
SENDER
Erica
Good morning. According to pep riversdal website the store open at 08h00 on a wednesday. Sitting now in front of store- not open! According to sign on window they only open at 09h00. What is correct time? Nit good not goid
Comment
COMPLAINT #6371 - Service Issues
SENDER
Thuthukani Sibusiso Mbatha
Dear Pep Store, it is ver sad to write this complaints. I send money for my elderly mother at Pep store Esikhawini Plaza same plaza Absa ATM it was withdrawn. I lodge a complaint at same Pep store together with my ID and poluce affidavit, to date has not geard a word from your store.
If this kinda service you can not protect our money, why you keep such service?
Comment
COMPLAINT #6359 - Service Issues
SENDER
Rushdiah
stood in the que for more 20min with 1 till operator.1staff member was busy marking merchandise at till point.not once making eye contact with any of the shoppers. Having a fat chat with her colleague. I asked if only 1 till is in serves and without looking up she replied...my till is frozen.by than the que has grown to about 10 customers.i think the mannanger heard me and came out from her room when she heard me and called Lisanda. The young lady called next No greeting just Ring up my items and rolling each item and stuff it in a bag.before I made the payment I asked her to fold my clothing nicely and than bag it.what a arrogant young lady.i will never ever put my foot in this particular store in uitenhage. No respect and no manners. This shop definitely need new management.This is not the first time I had a bad experience in this store.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6356 - Service Issues
SENDER
Kefentse Mashile
My name is Kefentse Mashile, I’m from Diepkloof zone five.I went to Baragwanath Black Chain PEP store on Sunday to send clothes through paxi,they said the system is offline I should come back on Monday 14/09/2020 I went back on Monday as they said,when I got there they told me I have to have a PAXI Code which I didn’t have because I have used paxi before and they didn’t tell me anything about the code I just had to tell them the place.The lady called Patricia said to me “this is a different pep, the stores are not the same in a rude way off course.She left me there clueless and continued helping other customers.
Here are my contact details:0797488136/0729631297.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6321 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Kefentse Mashile
My name is Kefentse Mashile, I’m from Diepkloof zone five.I went to Baragwanath Black Chain PEP store on Sunday to send clothes through paxi,they said the system is offline I should come back on Monday 14/09/2020 I went back on Monday as they said,when I got there they told me I have to have a PAXI Code which I didn’t have because I have used paxi before and they didn’t tell me anything about the code I just had to tell them the place.The lady called Patricia said to me “this is a different pep, the stores are not the same in a rude way off course.She left me there clueless and continued helping other customers.
Here are my contact details:0797488136/0729631297.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6320 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Keneilwe Molatedi
Told to leave 5 years old outside since kids are not allowed in store.Im still shocked when kidnappings and GBV's being rife in our country one is expe to leave innocent child outside.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6264 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Mduduzi Sengwayo
I Mduduzi Sifiso Sengwayo is hereby lodging a complaint about a phone I bought today it's function is not setisfection and the phone is overheating and yet they don't want to exchange it for me.
@Tonga code:484
Comment
COMPLAINT #6256 - Sales Issues
SENDER
Raesetja Prudence Makinita
I bought a phone cash (samsung J4 core) at Mams mall in.Mamelodi on 21 July 2020,The phone only worked for a month.I took it back to Pepcell but they said they cannot help me as I do not have.the receipt.I have the box,the phone,the charger and the earphones.I used my capitec card to buy the phone and can always produce my bank statement as proof of purchase.The total price of the phone is R2199.Is this phone not under guarantee?Most probably it is as 3 months is not yet over.May you kindly help me.
Comment
COMPLAINT #6239 - Guarantee Or Warranty Issues
SENDER
Bhimla Irfan
I bought a shoe for my daughter yesterday which was small I took it to exchange dis morning as I bought it late afternoon yesterday da manager and staff gave me a very hard time in exchanging the size I have pictures of da shoes unused bt still was a issue every time I go there to shop I'm treated with no respect is the staff paying for the stuff or am I pep stores in clairwood is pathetic send da staff for training so they know abt customer service the manager has no manners what so ever and il definitely nt be shopping at pep ever again
Comment
COMPLAINT #6202 - Refund / Exchange Issues
SENDER
Del Hepburn
Dear PEP,
I enjoy buying products that are durable & afordable, & thát I get from PEP. However, since PEP opened its doors again, I find that the closet PEP to me in (Greenfields, East London), is always out of stock, hense many empty racks, every week I am visiting in Greenfields... I do not want you to see this as a complaint but rather an urgent request that you ensure a fully stocked PEP, at all times.
Thank you for good service, the staff is always helpful & friendly.

Best wishes
Comment
COMPLAINT #6174 - Other Issues
SENDER
Charlene
I have emailed customer care last week but no response...
On the 12/08/2020,we submitted a phone mobicel Rio for repairs via pep cell Chatsworth. A week later we submitted a 2nd phone via pep cell. My 2nd phone came back before the 1st,when I queried 31/08/2020 the manager stated it's not at the store,and it's gone to mobicel. The manager stated she couldn't get through to mobicel which was lies the fact being the call was answered by an automated response which took me to an agent. The agent stated the phone was logged by pep cell on the same day 31/08/2020 19 days after being handed to the store.

I called pep cell manager again and she then states no phones went out to mobicel in a while etc,what she didn't know is that we had sent in 2 phones on different dates and one had come back. Therefore lies.

We picked up the phone on 7 August 2020 and the phone had deep scratches on the screen as if something were banged on the screen whereas the back cover that was in my care was in excellent condition. Note that I had sent out another phone that came back in excellent condition but the phone I queried about literally looked scratched badly,I don't believe that happened at mobicel but at pep cell since it sat there for 19 days before being sent to mobicel.

Again your manager Cathy insists that the phone was sent etc but Mobicel has a record and doesn't beat around the bush when answering questions.

Again today 8/09/2020 I walked into pep cell,cos there are still technical issues with my phone,the manager Cathy says she can't send it back cos it's already been for repairs and works when comes on,not listening to what the customer is saying. So I inform her that I contacted Mobicel and I was told to go back to the store and send this phone to the technical manager at Mobicel.

On the document to be sent to Mobicel what I said and your manager typed was different EG. I said the phone came back with deep scratches ...she typed and printed phone has marks...

As I spoke the manager Cathy,just seemed to ignore me and not acknowledge if she has heard me or not and this got me really irritated,cos the customer is speaking and she as a manager is busy bending over some packages stating she has other things to do and I should wait...but she was called out of the back room when I arrived and suddenly she is very busy.

When I queried over the screen of my phone being badly damaged whereas my back cover which I had with me in excellent condition,she just ignored me and stated it came like that no one touched it...so where was it for 19 days before being sent to Mobicel??? Mobicel received this phone 3/08/2020 as per their records.


Basically your manager Cathy at Pep Cell Chatsworth is arrogant,rude,bends over and faces her behind while the customer speaks,speaks with her mask coming down to her mouth,she doesn't acknowledge the customer with a yes/no when the customer speaks and she comes out to greet the customer then claims she can't deal with the customer because we the customer is asking valid questions.

This is unacceptable
With all of the above do you blame a customer for being angry,she literally yelled at me over the counter... your manager needs to learn proper customer etiquette...never look down on a customer because you don't know their profession/background to belittle them!
Reply by Anonymous on 9 September, 2020
This managers think that pepstore is their company... yesterday I was chased out of the shop bcos I took off my mask to speak with a deaf derson ..
Comment
COMPLAINT #6140 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Katlego Manganye
Hi. I always send my business parcels via paxi at your pep(Johannesburg CBD). I recently received bad service from both the cashier and manager who didn't want to take responsibility for entering a wrong destination number. I gave the lady my phone to check the store number that I was sending to, then when I got the slip I told them that the number is wrong but instead of apologizing they gave me attitude and said I'm the one who gave them a wrong destination number which is absurd cause I always use that number. Now my clients are angry cause they have to wait 14 days for their package to be received
Comment
COMPLAINT #6128 - Customer Service Issues
SENDER
Yvonne ngae
My dohta works there and always cm bk home sad.i hd a funeral bak home n told her I needed her n she said she's scared of her manager.i asked y she said she myt not agree n dsnt want to disappoint her.i called the shop myself n spoke to her then she agreed she can go home on Friday n cm bk Saturday after funeral.unfotunately the funeral was postponed due to postmortem results bng delayed n claims had to be made.i told her to talk to her manager n she refused saying her boss might threatn her by calling Ellis or jeane.i told my dohta she must just try n she did n to my surprise her boss did threatn her telling her that shud she not cm to work on Sunday she will face disciplinary action.today I had to convince my dohta to go to work n I cud c tht she's afraid.i don't know Wats gn happen when she gets to work but she called me n told me that her boss told her that she's waiting for feedback from her head office.i told her to cm bak home,I'm trying to call ma dohta bak but she's not picking up knowing her she might be crying where ever she is...Please 1 can't work with a person whom u r afraid of..I told her to send me the screen shots of their conversation
Reply by Anonymous on 11 September, 2020
Yes we do work with managers who oppresses us some of them we intimidate them by knowing more tasks than them so they think we are after their positions and you will only get unpaid leave for being absent not a disciplinary hearing, I just had to resign and go and stay home because of such situations I hated my job to the core that I wished they could fire me
Comment
COMPLAINT #6114 - Other Issues
SENDER
Zubeida
My phone was stolen at the store during lockdown and the lockdown regulations apply(social distancing)
The only person who I was in contact with during the time period of my phone being stolen was the cashier. I don't remember her name but she insisted to help me and proceeded to go back with me to fetch a different outfit.
This is when I noticed the phone was missing.
I asked them to check the footage but they refused saying it costs too much money for them to review the footage.
I need to find out exactly what happend.
Thank you
Comment
COMPLAINT #6085 - Customer Service Issues
123...8